2.0 – ‘Survivior’s Guilt’, College Edition

Hi guys! So as I mentioned before, I’m a college junior. The school year is just starting up and yet it seems that so many of my friends and peers are already incredibly stressed out and weighed down by work, research, and various obligations that are looming over them. The students at my school are all very hard working individuals, and a lot of my South Asian friends are pre-med, which brings on an incredible amount of stress.

I sometimes feel like the odd one out-I slack off on work constantly and yet I still manage to get by. I don’t think I have nearly the amount of work, readings, or quizzes/tests as others. I’ll be starting a more intensive business curriculum this semester, which will challenge me on my introversion more than my intellect, but I still feel that I have more free time than others to do stupid time-wasting activities like watching Netflix.

I understand that how I feel is an emotion built off of privilege; guilt isn’t an emotion that can cause hardships in the same way exorbitant amounts of work can. Sure, I also face incredible stress at times, but that mostly stems from my slight social anxiety and self-inflicted procrastination. Even though I can’t really know what other students are going through, I feel helpless and in pain at seeing others like this all the time. One of my best friends is especially feeling the weight of pre-med responsibilities, and it’s hard knowing there’s nothing I can do to lessen the things she has to do. All I can offer others is my support-and I’m trying to learn how to do that.

Leave a Reply

